Does stretching your toes and neck help lessen cracking?

• I read this somewhere online, but was wondering what you guys thought?

• I guess if you are cracking to relieve stiffness, then stretching will have the same effect.

As for stretching muscles reducing cavitation in joint capsules, its hard to see the connection, although I am not a doctor by any means.

• lol yeah but you have the same opinion as me, i'm a bit sceptical about it :?

• All the neck stretches I do make my neck crack while I do them, so… :?:

• Haha I know what you mean all too well :lol:

• I think that a moderate amount of cracking is okay. If your neck or spine or whatever cracks while you are doing stretches that say, a physical therapist would recommend, I'd say its unavoidable. One for the neck that I like is putting your palm against the side of your head and then pushing against it (with your head). Always good for a couple healthy cracks a day. i think you get into trouble when you start really wrenching things just to get that unattainable pop or release.

• yeah you have to have a limit, the neck is pretty fragile or so i'm told :?

• Yeah i always see people w Fragile necks walking around. lol
    Every time you do an action to get a crack , you are actually Stretching.
    If you stretch your neck , slowly and calm , you are reducing your chance of straining you neck muscles.
    Be 'in your body'
    When you thrust your neck around to get cracks you may strain a muscle, but it would be Minor.
    Neck pain is part of life, because the neck is in such constant use, it is very common, cracker or not to experience neck pain from time to time.
    Chronic/constant neck pain is a condition. Usually associated w an injury.

i believe stretching your neck is necessary and healthy, a tight or stiff neck is prone to injury or severe strain. like bruising, swelling and loss of mobilization.

Mellow neck stretch , that may induce cracking: