New cracker

• Well if we're introducing our selves…

I'm Anna, 18, and been cracking for a few years. I frequently do my toes, ankles, back, neck wrists, fingers (particularly fingers coz I'm a musician), thumbs and my FAVOURITE - the jaw. Jaw is so satisfying, I wish I could do it more than a couple of times a day...

mm.

• I can't understand how people can crack their jaws.

What instrument do you play?

I used to play guitar and clarinet and when playing the guitar for even 15 mins would hurt my fingers after after.

• Welcome, percush.

• Ah yeh my bad lol - welcome 😉 :lol:

• I'm a percussionist, Blaze. Also play a bit of ukulele and piano, but I'm studying percussion. I can relate to getting sore fingers when playing the guitar at first but eventually you develop callouses or at least get used to the feeling of the strings.

The jaw crack is amazing though. It used to happen like once every six months or so and it felt so amazing one day that I attempted to manipulate my jaw just by chewing etc untill I taught myself how to do it - I can only do it once or twice a day now, and for a few hours after each crack I can hear/feel liquid in the joint. Probably a really bad thing but it feels so good.

• Once every 6 months!!!!!!

Oh, so then your fingers have adapted to it.

Probably is bad then and if you find you can do it more then you have done something.

The theory behind hypertension is that your tendons are like springs. When you crack, the spring gets looser and starts unwinding and then the muscle takes more weight to sustain the part.

Something like that i guess.

• Hello percush 😉

welcome to the world of crack happy web surfers.

you'll find some different points of view here, but we are united through our cracking.

I have been cracking for well over 20 years and believe it to be normal, natural, healthy, hereditary, fun and relaxing.